Call (08) 9204 9444

Monday, November 17th 2014

(Save to cal)

Awards Ceremony 2014

Awards Ceremony 2014

Over 600 students, staff and parents attended the Newman College Awards Ceremony on Friday night, held at the Perth Convention Centre.

Throughout the evening, students from Years 7-11 were formally recognised for their outstanding academic achievements and guests were entertained with a number of performances by the very talented Newman Voices, Symphonic Winds, Newman Jazz. Year 11 musicians Mitchell Price-Norgaard & Scott Delamotte also performed a lovely interpretation of ‘Jinsei-No, Merry-Go-Round’ on the piano and guitar.
Along with the Academic, Sport and Guild Awards, there were two inaugural Major Awards presented this year. These awards include:
Champagnat Awards
This new award is presented to students in each year group who have demonstrated excellent leadership across a range of College activities such as Christian service, academic, cultural and sporting. Students were nominated against criteria which reflect the Marist Characteristics of ‘Presence’, ‘Simplicity’, ‘Family Spirit’, ‘Love of Work’ and ‘In the Way of Mary’. The Recipients of this award are:
Year 7 Asha James
Year 8 Alysha Holmes
Year 9 Louisa Beattie, Julia Diamond and Lucy Houghton
Year 10 Jennifer Bagg, Rebecca French, Chloe Hall and Georgia Martin
Year 11 Gabrielle Dal Busco, Sarah Durrant, Clare Martis, Alicia McGrade and Olivia Roberts
Dux Awards
A significant award that is presented each year at the Valedictory is the Dux of Year 12. This year the College has decided to recognise the Dux of each year group. The Dux of each year was determined by considering academic performance throughout the year in the five common curriculum subjects of Religious Education, English, Humanities, Maths and Science. The 2014 Dux of each year group is listed below:
Year 7 Isabelle Pang
Year 8 Kascia Pavisich
Year 9 Peter Loreck
Year 10 Alexandra Marbeck
Year 11 Elizabeth Loreck
Please click here to view the full list of award winners
The night concluded with the announcement of the 2015 Student Leaders. Congratulations to the following students who have been selected to represent their peers in 2015:
College Captains Sarah Durrant and Lawrence Drown
Faith and Liturgy Gabrielle Dal Busco and Keely Galvin
Social Justice Elizabeth Loreck and Olivia Roberts
Sport Olivia Pesce and Ben Chamberlain
Arts (Music) Alicia McGrade and Ewan Potter
Arts (Drama) Eden Rigo and Noah Diamond
Arts (Art) Jenna Muller
Technology John Ogilvie
Guild Captains:
Brigid: Georgina Gabelich and Thomas Judd
Camara: Helen Taylor and Mason Lawrence
Catherine: Alissa Sbrocco and Andre Silva Barros
Chisholm: Gabriella Milne and Joshua Seymour
Marcellin: Alicia McGrade and Samuel Muir
Mackillop: Jasmine Sergeant and Chad Murray
Romero: Maeve Joyce and Zachary Vassallo
Thomas More: Alexia Pesce and Valentin Revichev
Congratulations to all of our Award recipients and 2015 Student Leaders.
Bernie Boss, Principal

< Go back | More news at Middle & Secondary